Fences

fences

Above is a picture from the move Fences. It stars Denzel Washington and Viola Davis they are awesome actors. If you haven’t seen this movie you should not only watch it for the great acting, but for the story line that this movie covers. Every black American male should watch this movie. The movie covers a consistent unseen issue in black American males even today. What do I mean? Fences is  about a struggle that a black male is having in society and his biggest enemy is himself. It also covers the issues and pain that we  send  black american females through with our bitterness, selfishness, and infidelity. It even highlights how we don’t break the chains and scars that our fathers before us have carried on. This post is not to just talk to you about how great this movie was but to cover the issues that we (and I say in guilt the word “WE”) live with today. It was not until the middle of this movie that I felt the meaning of the title fences until one of the characters stated that the fences were sometimes built to keep people and things out or built to keep the people you love in. I was able to see some of me in the type of man Denzel was in this movie. He had a great wife she stood by him no matter what he did and even though he messed up countless times she was still right there for him. He never showed true appreciation to her and expected her to just live with his wrong doings. It is that part that I cannot deny in this movie that was me all the way. If you have ever read my previous blogs you are probably asking “dumbass when will you learn?” and I can tell you today when I lost one of best parts of me that I have ever met. I like Denzel had a second chance and this time it is all me in the wrong. I expected her to just deal with my wrong doings and forget about them. I made her think she wasn’t doing enough so I had to seek it in other people but in reality I wasn’t doing enough and I wasn’t enough for what God had allowed me to meet. Selfishness and self idolization overcame me along with self pity plus deeming world obligation,so let’s break it all down. I disregarded every feeling she had selfishly because I used I instead of we. Self idolization because I expected I to fix all the wrongs, I had done to her through cheating and cheating again and then again, instead of using God and asking God to lead US into the life we should have been living. Self pity came when I was reminded of what I had done to her when I should have taken the blame for the deceitful person that I was being. I felt like the world owed me something and the bad that I caused was because of what others (the white mans system, her consistent nagging for me to tell her I love her, and past relationships which were excuses for me to do wrong because i am insecure) had done to me. The things she was doing and had done for me were owed to me in my mind. Now…….She is gone!!! All I have from that is I. I could imagine that right now before it is too late there is someone that has what I had. I dedicate this post to you to give you the chance to turn your I into WE and make a change before you end up like the character Denzel played and I. Hey!! “Life is journey but it’s up to you to make it a magical one” -Coffee Brown Brother

~ by Coffee Brown Brother on 01/07/2017.

Leave a comment

 
ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Can a 500 pound man?

The Health and Fitness Transformation of Brent

BUTTERCUP'S TEACUPS

DAWG GONE PRETTY

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Bloggin While Growing

Muslim, homeschooling, always reading, sometimes gardening, sometimes traveling, sometimes sewing, always learning simply sharing.

hautedraws

Just another WordPress.com site

Multo (Ghost)

Ghosts of story, myth, or anywhere else....

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

Tri Fatherhood

The gentle art of balancing marriage, parenting, and triathlon

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulous gender creative son.

Becoming Cliche

My Journey to Becoming My Mother

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.